top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle Cedarblade

So, I flew around the world for $1,000


 

Yup, you read that right. $1,000. That's 24.9 miles per $1...my Chevy Equinox doesn't even give me that good of a deal!


Now, don't worry. We didn't just get on a plane and fly around the world. Our three-week long trip included spending time in Sweden, Thailand, Indonesia, and Hawaii. This wasn't my first rodeo finding awesome flight deals (and I guarantee it won't be my last), but I have some helpful tips and tricks to help make you a bargain backpacker, too.


#1 | Start with Hopper

If you haven't heard of the app Hopper, you have been missing out. This free app has discounts galore for hotels and flights. I'm a huge advocate for Airbnb, but if you need a hotel--this is the best place to look!


As for flights, Hopper is the first place I look. Hopper offers some pretty accurate prediction metrics that tell you the best date to book flights AND can help you freeze prices. Pretty cool, right? I use Hopper to determine the latest possible week/date that I should book, then I use this next tip!


#2 | Use Skyscanner to determine the best airline and flight time

After I have determined the best timeframe to book my flight from Hopper I make my way to a new website/app called Skyscanner. Skyscanner has awesome features such as a "search everywhere" to find the cheapest deals. You can book on Skyscanner, however I use it to search for the cheapest airlines and most convenient flight times for my destination. I then finally book using my final tip!


#3 | Finally book using Skiplagged

My final tip is to book that airline/date/time on Skiplagged. Skiplagged is another website/app that allows you to find the cheapest flight to your destination, but your final destination might be a layover for a different destination. For example, you might want to go to Orlando, Florida for $209. Skiplagged might find a flight going to Miami with a layover in Orlando that is $158. You can then book that flight to Miami and get off in Orlando at your final destination and save $51!


Now, when I tell people I do this, I often get asked if I "get in trouble" with airlines. The short answer is no. The long answer is I can't imagine they exactly like that people do this, but it does open up seats for people on the next flight who are on stand-by. I also might tell myself that to make myself feel better, but $51 is still $51.


Here is my disclaimer with this website. With not getting off at the "intended" destination, you CANNOT check bags. If you struggle to pack light, this final tip might not work for you.However, you can still bring a carry-on which often times is all that you need. Trust me, you don't need seven pairs of pants for a long weekend.


Does this work for international flights? YES! This was where I booked all of my flights for our three-week vacation around the world. You'll notice that often times your flights will take you directly to your destination and not a layover. Win-Win!


Some final tricks and treats

Now, there is a "science" for when to use these apps. I put science in quotations because these findings are based off of what I have found to work over the years and my countless hours of researching airline flight equations (and because my husband is an engineer and would roll his eyes at the fact that I call it a science). Check out my post coming this next week of the best dates and times to book your travel. Guess that was more of a trick than a treat. :)


Until next time! Cheers!

241 views
bottom of page