top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle Cedarblade

Well, that was something else.


I am a planner. I am a goal setter and to-do list maker. As you can imagine, this year hit a little differently. After all, I made this blog to talk about travel deals, and this post is far from the exciting world of travel. Plans have gone out the window and my lists are now of Zoom meeting links. 2020 certainly had some highs, lows, and really lows. However, it'll still be a year that I have mixed feelings about leaving behind.


Every year on New Year's Eve I make a list of the year's most impactful milestones and events. Traditionally, these have been of moments with those I love most, fun adventures, or big life accomplishments. Just like everything this year, my New Year's list was different than it has been in the past. There is a lot of pain and hurt that I want to leave behind in 2020, but there are three very big life lessons that I hope to carry with me in the new year.


#1 | Community is Powerful

Sure, 2020 has been a year of distance, but it has also been a year of community. This year has shown me what it means to build intentional community with those around me. I'm so thankful for the virtual happy hours, Among Us game nights, FaceTime calls, letters, virtual church services, and so much more. Distanced doesn't have to mean apart.


#2 | Priorities

I'm gonna be honest, I can be a pretty selfish person. I know that. 2020 has been a pretty big slap in the face to the reality. When Stay At Home orders initially hit I was shocked. I was mad about future travel plans, confused about how to adjust how I do work, and worried about being confined. Looking back, I am disgusted with myself. How selfish of me to care about travel, or to be upset about having work, or be worried about being bored. 2020 has been a needed reality check of the importance of community and the well-being of all.


#3 | Life is Precious

As many of you know, my dad passed away on December 3rd this year. To say this hit me hard is an understatement. My dad has always been my rock, my adventure buddy, my debate partner, my go-to fixer-upper, and my ultimate storyteller. I am devastated. I have a dad shaped hole in my heart that I know nothing will fix. I remember earlier in 2020 talking about how each month keeps getting worse and that I am nervous for December, like, dang 2020, you took it too far. I'll forever hold onto 2020 because it was the last year I got to hear my dad's tangy accent, get one of his bear hugs, and see the joy on his face when I'd tell him about my accomplishments. 2020 is also leaving me with a lot of "could haves" and "wish I would haves" that often leave me with a lump in my throat and many tears. If 2020 has taught me anything, it is that life is so, so precious. Savor every moment, you never know when it will be your last.


Now, I know some people hate resolutions. Being the planner I am, I love them. My 2020 goals were a complete bust, but they give me a good laugh now. With that in mind, I'm being more mindful of the goals I set for 2021 with the hope that they aren't used as a punchline next December. Now I know goals are supposed to have a timeline and are supposed to be specific, but 2020 has taught me that goals should also be adaptable. With that being said, here are my goals for 2021:


#1 | Love unconditionally (including myself)

#2 | Incorporate self-care into my daily routine

#3 | Keep in touch

#4 | Travel (hopefully, if anything, travel to get myself a COVID vaccine)

#5 | Learn to braid my hair (yes, seriously)


Many of you are excited about leaving behind 2020, I get it. Those of you struggling to leave behind a year of growth, a loved one, or missed opportunities...I see you. I'm struggling to let go of 2020. Goodbyes make you think. They make you realize what you've had, what you lost, and what you may have taken for granted. On this last day of the year, my hope is that you are able to remember some good from 2020. Cheers to a happier and hopefully healthier 2021.

335 views
bottom of page